An Open Letter to My Mother

Dearest Ma,

I hope this letter finds you well. I just wanted to thank you for lending me the smallest brotherski for these past several weeks. It was very nice while it was around.

Unfortunately, however, I appear to have lost it. Tragically. It was somewhere in section 29 of the Pinhoti Trail. On a forest road, I think. It all happened so quickly; it’s very hard to recall the details. And meat grinders, you know- they are very hard to catch once they have pounced, and then- shoof!– away they go, and there is nothing to be done but stand with mouth agape and watch the dust trail behind.

I truly am sorry. There was very little left to find, really. I will be sending the shabby remains home in a cardboard box, on the airplane. Southwest has the best service, you know. Please be available to collect at the airport.

Otherwise, my hiking trip is going fine. How are you? I hope your summer is going well, and I promise to take better care of your things in the future. Oh, and by the way, I am now out of duct tape. This state park sure is nice, though.

Please send more food.

With much love,
Your Offspring

One thought on “An Open Letter to My Mother

  1. My dear child number two, Anna,
    This is late in reply but then I am not much of a writer. I am always relieved that you are doing well. Continue to do well for the sake of your dear mother. We have picked up your tall little brother at the airport days ago. Southwest was kind enough to send him to us all in one piece. Except for some insect bites and a very slightly achy leg, he is completely himself. And a much bigger appetite.
    We have been feeding him well, bought him a couple more school uniforms, school shoes and books and he’s ready for junior year, but probably not looking forward to it. He has also done his German homework. And I didn’t even know he had that to do.
    He is back doing his martial arts and working towards his black belt. Also, he will start driving classes next week.
    As for me I am back home doing what mothers do and keeping track of all my chrildren.
    It’s good to hear from you and fun to read your blog. Also, together with the box of goodies I sent, there is a small thing of duck tape with pictures of pink flying pigs. Do pigs fly?
    Take care and may God keep you and guide you.
    Love,
    Mom

    Like

Leave a Reply

